Debut album from ascending underground music scenesters DCW with their distinctive sharply observed dark urban tales soundtracked to post-punk surf-psych guitars. Follows third single Runaway Pram (released on 14 July – download only). Second single “my best friend’s going out with a girl i like” was Band Aid single of the week on BBC 6music’s Shaun Kevenay’s breakfast show while Music Week described it as “sarcastic, sardonic and articulate” and that “I can guarantee once you’ve heard this it will stick in your head all day”. BBC London’s Gary Crowley describes the sound as “a cross between Clinic and Suicide”.

‘a work of dirty minded genius’ (Sounds XP, Top Ten Albums of 2008) ‘For sheer scope and lyrical intensity, David Cronenberg’s Wife have made one of the best albums of the year’ (The Fly)

‘creepy, weird, and brilliant’ (Line Of Best Fit)

‘An actual modern masterpiece’ (Room 13)

‘Not many albums this strong being made in this decade’ (Norman Records)

‘an altogether cracking debut album by a band who have managed to excite and simultaneously unnerve the senses in a way seldom achieved in the present musical climate’ (Supersweet)

  1. Runaway Pram
  2. Coming To Your Hometown
  3. I Do Know
  4. Jonny Bentham’s Dilemma
  5. I Couldn’t Get Off
  6. Pale-Skinned Girl
  7. My Best Friend’s Going Out With A Girl I Like
  8. The Neighbourhood Knows
  9. Where Is Lucy Leveugle?
  10. Harry The Morgue
  11. I’m On The Booze, Mama
Additional information

CD, Download

Privacy Preference Center