Stockport’s “bright sparks” DCW release their second album, Hypnagogues (meaning a drug that induces sleep) a year on from their critically acclaimed debut Bluebeard’s Rooms (BLANG9).

The single track “The Fight Song” released in May landed the band a well deserved Marc Riley session on BBC 6 Music where some of the album tracks were aired.

Hypnagogues is a selection of eloquent kitchen sink dramas set to Tom Mayne’s trademark sardonic lyrical humour and the bands bright surf-psych guitars but this time, a distinct country & western spirit haunts the album, particularly with some of the more melancholic folksy tracks such as “In the Limo” and “Desperate Little Man”. BBC London’s Gary Crowley described the first DCW album as “a cross between Clinic and Suicide” but this album demonstrates a deeper respect for Jonathan Richman and the Velvets.

“if there is a God this release should see them getting showered with gold” (Artrocker)

“a mix of The Fall circa ‘Grotesque (After The Gramme)’ and The Velvet Underground” (NME)

“lyrically “acerbic andmusically accomplished” (Supersweet)

“every second is enjoyable” (The Line Of Best Fit)

“get hold of this, you won’t be disappointed” (Incendiary)

“ a breathtaking musical and emotional rollercoaster ride” (Sounds XP)

“vignettes that come from the depths of a frenzied mind. Apparently they don’t want to ‘join those boys at the fuck me I’m sensitive school.’ No chance of that!” (Subba Cultcha)

“something special with every release” (Mark Lamarr, BBC Radio 2)

  1. Sweden
  2. Can’t Keep Doing What You Do
  3. The Lou Reed Song
  4. Fight Song
  5. In The Limo
  6. You Should’ve Closed The Curtains
  7. Body To Sleep With
  8. Desperate Little Man
  9. Make Me A Channel Of Your Peace
  10. Jailbird
  11. Drawn Again
Additional information

Vinyl, CD, Download

Privacy Preference Center